Iowa FBLA logo

What is FBLA?

FBLA is the largest and oldest business student organization in the world! Ever since it was founded in 1942, FBLA has continued to grow. Over 215,000 high school students across the country are a part of FBLA!

Iowa FBLA's History

1947 Iowa becomes the first FBLA state chapter.
1953 First member (Carol Davis) from Iowa to become a national officer. 12 more members since have been a part of the national officer team.
1996 First adviser from Iowa (Warren D. Roberts) named to the National FBLA-PBL Adviser Wall of Fame.

The Pledge

I solemnly promise to uphold the aims and responsibilities of Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda and, as an active member, I shall strive to develop the qualities necessary in becoming a responsible business leader.

The Creed

I believe education is the right of every person.

I believe the future depends on mutual understanding and cooperation among business, industry, labor, religious, family, and educational institutions, as well as people around the world.

I agree to do my utmost to bring about understanding and cooperation among all of these groups.

I believe every person should prepare for a useful occupation and carry on that occupation in a manner that brings the greatest good to the greatest number.

I believe every person should actively work toward improving social, political, community, and family life.

I believe every person has the right to earn a living at a useful occupation.

I believe every person should take responsibility for carrying out assigned tasks in a manner that brings credit to self, associates, school and community.

I believe I have the responsibility to work efficiently and to think clearly.

I promise to use my abilities to make the world a better place for everyone.

The Code of Ethics

I will be honest and sincere.

I will approach each task with confidence in my ability to perform my work at a high standard.

I will willingly accept responsibilities and duties.

I will seek to profit from my mistakes and take suggestions and criticisms directed toward the improvement of myself and my work.

I will abide by the rules and regulations of my school.

I will exercise initiative and responsibility and will cooperate with my employer and fellow workers.

I will dress and act in a manner that will bring respect to me and to my school.

I will seek to improve my community by contributing my efforts and my resources to worthwhile projects.